Sunday, October 7, 2012

Sri Lanka Vs West Indies , ICC T20 World Cup 2012 - Final match at Colombo:

Colombo: Clinical Sri Lanka will test their skills against the flamboyant West Indies when both sides battle for their maiden World Twenty20 title in a mouth-watering final in Colombo on Sunday.

A sell-out crowd of 35,000 at the Premadasa stadium will offer boisterous support as Mahela Jayawardene's home team attempt to reverse fortunes after losing three finals in major meets since 2007.
Standing in the way will be the destructive West Indies batting led by opener Chris Gayle, who crushed Australia in Friday's semi-final with a scintillating 75 of 41 balls.

Chris Gayle is one of main factor to see in this match.
Chris Gayle pulled up a side strain in the match against Australia and is likely to be
fit to play in this game.   
Gayle has already hit the most sixes in this tournament, 16, and is only 30 runs behind the leading run-getter, Shane Watson, who scored 249.

    "If Sri Lanka can get Gayle out under 20 runs, they are the favourites to win the title but if they can`t then West Indies are too strong," Bailey opined when he was asked about the favourite team to win the Cup.

 Gayle, Pollard power West Indies into T20 World Cup final 

Sri Lankan’s having home advantage. As hosts, they will have a vociferous home support.

 The Premadasa wicket could turn out to be a slow turner and Sri Lanka have a couple of distinguished spinners. Being better players of spin, Sri Lanka will be a step ahead both in batting and bowling.

* Jayawardene has hit the most fours, 27.

*Sri Lanka will be further boosted by the match-winning form of unorthodox spinner Ajantha Mendis, who shares the top spot among bowlers with Watson at 11 wickets apiece, and sling-arm fast bowler Lasith Malinga, who has eight scalps.
The squads are as below:
Sri Lanka: 1 Tillakaratne Dilshan, 2 Mahela Jayawardene, 3 Kumar Sangakkara, 4 Lahiru Thirimanne, 5 Jeevan Mendis, 6 Angelo Mathews, 7 Thisara Perera, 8 Nuwan Kulasekara, 9 Lasith Malinga, 10 Ajantha Mendis, 11 Rangana Herath.
West Indies: 1 Chris Gayle, 2 Johnson Charles, 3 Marlon Samuels, 4 Dwayne Bravo, 5 Kieron Pollard, 6 Darren Sammy (capt.), 7 Andre Russell, 8 Denesh Ramdin, 9 Sunil Narine, 10 Ravi Rampaul, 11 Samuel Badree.

So what if India didn't make it to the final? So what if they had another forgettable WorldT20? Don't miss the Sunday night party at Premadasa.

No comments:

Post a Comment